Yarn Storage In The Making…

Less than a year ago, a friend taught me how to knit. All of the sudden, I have a lot of yarn over-flowing a bin. Time to get serious about organizing this! Here is my best, frugal attempt at yarn storage with a modified version of an idea from crochetme. All you will need is oatmeal containers (or coffee), fabric, and a hot glue gun. The fabric cut for the small standard oatmeal container for me was 14 in. x 7 in.

Any hot glue gun will work…

I simply put three dots of hot glue in a line along the seam of the container and pressed my fabric flat against it. Hold until it dries. Then, fold your fabric tightly around the container and, again, 3 dots of hot glue, place fabric onto glue and hold to dry (only a few seconds). Hello, organization!

This is a picture from a few feet back. It measures that I will be able to fit 8 containers underneath each side of my shelf. The beauty; there is plenty of room underneath that will allow me for more oatmeal storage contains if yarn becomes as much of a “problem” (or collection ๐Ÿ˜‰ย for me as fabric has. You can be the judge.

I love it! Wa-la! Frugal, fancy and just super cute all around! Enjoy! Let me know if you have any questions!

3 thoughts on “Yarn Storage In The Making…

  1. This is a brilliant idea! However, with the way I am going, every shelf in the house would have some of these to hold my stash! Haha. I’m fortunate enough to have a cupboard where I can discretely be shoved away!

  2. That’s a great ideas, I use crisp tins for my needles but I too have too much yarn to store like that, giant boxes from the international Swedish storage company and vacuum bags. But very cute and crafty! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

