A Special Spot in my Heart…

This 4th of July, I found myself reflecting on something; a past project of mine. I think about it often, actually, because it clearly had a significant impact on my heart.

 

In the fall of 2010, I put together a red, white, and blue quilt for a young boy named Jack, who had a terminal illness. He is from the UK and had misplaced his favorite “patriotic” quilt. I was asked by Give Kids The World Village, an organization that helps give dream vacations to kids with life-threatening illnesses and their families, to make my best attempt at replicating this precious possession of Jack’s. I felt so honored to help this little boy and his family find comfort and I still find myself wondering and thinking about him to this day. The only photo they had to provide me for reference was the one pictured (with Jack) at the very bottom of this post. ♥ Every 3 1/2 inch square of the quilt was cut and every stitch was sewn with my love for children. ♥

 

I have included some pictures to share.

 

Sometimes in life, it really does not matter how busy we are. It is not always I…ME…WE…MY…This little boy deserved this and GOD brought this project to me. It is important to me, in my life, to always make my best effort at doing things for others. At the end of every week, I ask myself, “What did I do to help someone out this week? How could I have done better?” Think about the people who mean the most to you in this life, or maybe even a total stranger! Who could use a hug, a friend to help, a hot tea or maybe some cookies? Pay it forward. Pay it forward. Pay it forward. In November of 2010, we bought our first house and became every bit of “busy” that comes along with that. Regardless, I can take time to SERVE. I am so glad I had the opportunity to do this for him and that project, quilt and sweet boy will remain in my heart forever. ♥

5 thoughts on “A Special Spot in my Heart…

  1. That’s so wondeful of you. And don’t forget about the quilt and blanket you made for Hayden. I am sure one day he will come to appreciate it just as much as I do.

    • Thanks, Christina. I have done several projects that I really hold dear. When you make a quilt, you become attached to it like a work of art. You spend so much time with the material, thread and pattern that it really becomes part of you and the meaning behind it become that much more concrete.

      For me, I am an emotional person. Yes, Hayden’s quilt is another project that I will never forget. He is an awesome boy. I will never forget getting to watch him use that IPad and communicate with you. I was so chocked up and could hardly contain myself. For me, the quilt sums it up. I really put my heart into everything I do and I am so happy you had me do that for him. I take pictures of all the quilts I make and the stories behind them will never be forgotten.

      I also did a quilt for a couple that carried their baby to term, delivered, and lost the child only a few hours later. They wanted that to remember their baby. It was hard and I cried almost the entire time I was sewing it. ❤ Sometimes, I will literally sob while sewing and everytime it bring me back to realizing how blessed we really are. I like having an impact on people and my quilts seem to be a way I can do that. Thanks for your feedback.

      Your blogging is great and you are a fantastic writer. I would be willing to bet that you will have a very substancial following soon. Start writing your first ebook to sell!! 🙂

      • LOL. Thanks, but I’m not that great of a writer. SImply doing it to get my emotions out. Even if no one follows, it helps me to get everything out or else it eats me alive.

Leave a Reply

