Today…my heart speaks to me…

I don’t have time to blog today. But that is often when my heart speaks to me! Not even a spare moment as I am hosting and preparing to host my best friend and brother’s engagement party this evening. I have tiny tomatoes and such scattered all over my counter and I just made 100 mini BLT bites. I have a gift half wrapped sitting right behind my laptop screen. I have a cluttered house, dirty dishes and everything has roughly a half-inch of dust on it (okay, I am exaggerating there). But needless to say, I have a billion other things I could be doing.

Last week, I started reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. What a genius! I love her writing style and I am so excited to continue the book. This phrase really sums up what makes it so exciting for me, “Was my happiness project just and attempt to extend my driven, perfectionist ways to every aspect of my life?” said Rubin. “My happiness project was both. I wanted to perfect my character, but given my nature, that would probably involve charts, deliverables, to-do lists, new vocabulary terms, and compulsive note taking.” I’m literally gitty-excited to continue reading…hopefully on a Lake Michigan beach somewhere very soon. She also mentions “transcendant perspective”, which I will write more about how that applies to my life later.

Church, Church, CHURCH this morning was so awesome! Wow! I love feeling and being so alive in my faith. God is so awesome. This morning at church, we got to hear from 5 men that are staffed in leadership positions at the church and I just cannot get over how effective and energetic they all were! It just fascinates me how our church really involve and inspire young people to “get it” and what is most impressive and awesome is that everyone loves to be at church! Every week, VFC is changing who were are by challenging us to be who Christ meant for us to be, influencing our son’s life, and overall strengthening our marriage, relationships and family. We are looking forward to what the future holds!

fam

My heart was speaking to me this morning about Memorial Day and what it really means. I am forever so thankful and grateful for the men and women that serve our great country. Sometimes, I will be walking in the woods or in the middle of an intense workout and I will think, ‘Wow. I can do this because we are free.” Freedom is NOT free and there has been such a cost and sacrifice. Memorial Day weekend is a time when we remember our fallen heroes. They are the reason we are free. Enjoy your family time, cookouts, camping and time on the lake; meanwhile, never forget why it is you are able to do all of those things so freely in this great country!! Thank a veteran today for their service. I will be spending Memorial Day weekend celebrating the engagement of my brother and my best friend, Brandi. I could not be happier for them! Happy Memorial Day!!

memorial day

Until next time, when I will have so much more to say about The Happiness Project!

 

 

Leave a Reply

