Changing Seasons….

I feel like a lot has happened so far this summer and I realized time is FLYING when we got the first cute little preschool tuition invoice in the mail. Preschool is EXPENSIVE! Stepping off my soap box now…

4th of July was a BIG hit here! I think it is imperative that children know WHY we celebrate holidays such as Independence Day. We spent the day covered in glitter, red, white, and blue, and eating festive ice cream sandwiches, but most importantly, we talked about the great country we live in. Freedom. Freedom to worship a God we love. Freedom to hang our flag in pride. Freedom to salute our fallen soldiers. Afterall, Steve can attest that I read Noah the US Constitution often while he was in-utero because THEY CAN HEAR! ūüėČ Noah loves our country so much that he wants to visit EVERY state! I strive to make his dreams come true, so we will have to see!

We also ventures to Coloma and Benton Harbor area to pick rasberries and sweet cherries on the 4th! I love teaching Noah the work that goes into growing and farming; not to mention, what foods are in season in this great growing region of ours!!!

IMG_5149IMG_5162IMG_5304

IMG_5375IMG_5358IMG_5418

As you probably could have guessed, my personality nature is not that of a spontaneous¬†one at all. I try so hard to be! Today after visiting the farmers market, we made a stop and they were selling six 5-week-old bunnies! Noah was petting them and loving on them the whole time we were there. He acted as he always does around animals that don’t belong to him. He loves animals so much. Meanwhile, I was silently begging Steve to let us take one home! THEY WERE ONLY $10! A substantially¬†SMALL price to pay knowing how happy it was going to make our little boy. With that being said, we have been considering a puppy for a long time, but we are not sure if we are ready for that (and all the potential expense and hair that comes along with it). This would be the perfect fit and I know it! Needless to say, we left with the bunny that Noah picked out. Welcome to the family, Snowball! I am quite sure you will love it here! We have a lot of fun.

IMG_5457

On a less happy note, I put in my two-week¬†resignation at Kalamazoo Right to Life on June 22nd and July 5th was my last day there. After over 3 years as the Office Manager at KRTL, I had given this choice so much prayerful thought and consideration and it was time for me to let that go. After training a spectacular replacement, who actually reminds me a lot of myself when I was just out of college, I am assured that she will do a fantastic job. She is a trailblazer for her age in the pro-life movement and I cannot wait to see what she accomplishes at KRTL¬†while she is there. Knowing I had a great replacement made leaving easier, but still not easy. I was offer and started that job in April of 2010 and it has been a part of our lives, volunteering, and family ever since. As I drove away, I was praying and thanking God for¬†the flexible opportunity that had allowed me to keep “being a mom” as my very top priority! Although I had an office, they allowed me to work primarily from home which, of course, provided me the opportunity to do pro-life work on the fly while I was attending storytimes¬†and cleaning peanut butter off the walls. For several months now, I have been feeling a tug at my heart. I knew¬†something was telling me where to put my focus. How do I know? I know because I feel complete joy and happiness when I am doing what I love. So now, I can attend the KRTL¬†annual dinners and instead of being a ball of stress sweating in the corner, I can serve on the dinner planning committee, volunteer when I can, and no longer have the obligation weighing me down. Not to mention, I am running a full tim daycare out of my home. Therefore, working part-time¬†for KRTL¬†and being expected to take phone calls in a professional¬†manner from home is just a few steps away from being crazy. Can you hear it, “Kalamazoo Right to Life, this is Amanda.” (But, I say this frantically as I am running out to the front yard – ie. my office). Although, I believe strongly that it is safe to assure you that will not be the last time you see my name turn up in the pro-life movement. My family and closest friends can certainly attest to that! ‚ÄúSimple morality dictates that unless¬†and until someone can prove the unborn human is not alive, we must give it¬†the benefit of the doubt and assume it is (alive). And, thus, it should be¬†entitled to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.‚ÄĚ ‚Äď Ronald Reagan 1982 For only now, the time had come for me to go, but I know I will be back!

I have something exciting to share! I got a call today that the largest quilt I have ever made is back from the professional quilter. My birthday gift from my in-laws was to have this quilt quilted! I am so excited! I made it for our bed and it is going to be beautiful in our bedroom. The picture below is of the quilt totally pieced but not yet quilted. Eeeeeeeeek!

quilt

Lastly, Steve starts his new job on Monday!!!! I am so excited for him. We have heard so many great things about Kalsec¬†including; “Kalsec¬†is the best kept secret in Kalamazoo”, “I know someone who¬†retired from there a very happy person!”, and “It is a great, family friendly¬†company.” I think he is in for challenges, tons of learning, and a journey that will benefit our family beyond words. I cannot wait to update with more once he starts and gets settled.

Many changes in life seasons going on in the Rice household the past few months! We are thrilled and have remained optimistic. We have a big, fun summer planned and we are in no rush for it to end. Feel free, as always, to comment below! I would love to hear what every is up to this summer so far. Until next time, readers…

Leave a Reply

