Thank You! Thank You!

Tonight I had tea with some friends at Chocolatea (and I had A LOT of tea, so this post will probably be wordy, lengthy, and full of heart – beacuse that is what TEA does to me). It was so nice to get out of the house and talk to some great women. Since Steve took a 2nd shift position, I will say that one thing I miss is the frequent mommy evenings out. Although, I cannot complain because I think I was spoiled with how many I was able to sneak off to before. 🙂 Either way, tonight was a blessing in more way than one. Here is another “glass half full” post, so if you don’t enjoy those, you may want to push the little ‘x’ in the upper right-hand corner now. Just sayin’. Why was this evening a blessing? Read on…

I got to the tea shop at about 6:30, knowing my friends wouldn’t be there until around 8:30. I wanted a little quiet time to read, journal, and stare at the Portage Creek and the peace it brings my soul. After I got my tea, I walked past a HUGE (like 4 inch) binder sitting on one of the customer tables called “COMMUN-A-TEA” (community). I was intrigued already. Obviously. As I sat flipping through this book, I was blown away. I figured out quickly why I love Chocolatea and the Kragt family. This binder was packed full of letters and hand-written cards expressing all sorts of gratitude to the owner and her beautiful, unique and super-generous local business. I was so inspired, overwhelmed and thankful. I love that I regularly support a business that so generously supports our community in so many ways! WOW! Mind-blown!

In addition, I cannot even express my gratitude to the Kalamazoo Moms Group with words. You all have become such a big part of my life and have impacted and inspired me in more ways than you all know. Yesterday, I lost my cell phone. Tonight at Chocolatea, Holly and Michelle presented me with the sweetest card I have ever received expressing their thanks and admiration; a beautiful card that makes me cry when I read it. In the card was a gift card to replace my phone that I lost yesterday in a moment of total scatter (I am a scatter-brain, in case you haven’t noticed). How absolutely incredible you women are for caring enough to do this for me. You all have hearts of gold and I am so blessed to have all of you in my life. Thank you so much!

Today was a great day. Steve and Noah are enjoying their time camping with Steve’s dad. I got to go to the new Hobby Lobby (although I refrained from buying anything, I literally wanted to squeal when I walked in…), I went to many garage sales looking for fall/winter clothes for Noah, stopped at my favorite antique shops in town, and had a peaceful dinner at Noodles and Co. I ended up buying a rug for the kitchen and a cracked canoe for $10 that I plan to paint and plant flowers in our yard. The picture below might give you an idea of what I have planned. Yes, another project is underway at the Rice household. Nothing new there.

 canoe

The point of my blog (sometimes) is to journal and note what is on my heart. I blog about the moments I want to store away…and the details of the work of Jesus in our family that I want recorded for my child one day. I like sharing (and getting) ideas with (from) other moms. My life is generally pretty great and I have nothing to complain about. I have a great life: a God that blesses and loves us unconditionally; a stellar son who makes everyday an interesting adventure; a husband who is fabulous and supportive beyond words; the best parents a girl could ever ask for; in-laws that I love (and I feel lucky to be able to say that, because many people hate their in-laws); a great church; an awesome, family-friendly community; and family and friends that are irreplaceable. I tend to reflect on a happy heart and not dwell on a sad one. I do have bad days and I suck at a lot of things (cooking and baking to name a few). Oh, and I love buttons.

What makes your heart sing? I’d love to see some responses! Love you all! And when I say love, I mean it! With my whole heart!

Leave a Reply

