Saved By the Bell!

For the past two days, I have spent a lot of time replacing one to-do list with the next. I cross off everything I have accomplished and throw away my post-it – feeling accomplished – and then I realize everything I already did, has a “phase two” and needs revisiting for one reason or another. For example, “Do Christmas Cards” turned into “Buy Stamps,” which then turned into “Print Address Labels,” and finally, today, I got to cross “Mail Christmas Cards” off my list. This, of course, is a smaller-scale to-do and absolutely pales in comparison to all my other to-dos right now. Sigh. I put Noah (whom has been sick for 3 days) to bed this evening I sat down on the couch only to be greeted by 3 neon orange post-its staring at me on the coffee table! I pretended they were not there. I felt and absolute sense of relief when I noticed my bible on the coffee table as well. RING, RING, RING…”Hello?” “Oh, Hello Jesus. I am glad you called.” Saved by the bell.

God instantly took me to Luke 10:38-42 –

“Now as they went on their way, he entered a certain village, where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. She had a sister named Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to what he was saying. But Martha was distracted by her many tasks; so she came to him and asked, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to do all the work by myself? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and distracted by many things; there is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part, which will not be taken away from her.”

Image

I love this passage. I think about it often, actually, because of the busy life we lead. I will say, that I prefer busy over bored, lack-of-enthusasium, and BLAH any day! Blah isn’t me. I like to be doing something, creating something. However, I will be the first to admit that Jesus often speaks to me in the department of “slow down and focus on what matters”. God called me tonight in the right moment to remind me that CHRIST is the REASON for this SEASON. And it was an absolute relief! I physically feel relief and God’s grace. My duty as a Christian does not involve mimicking the distracted, exhausted, defeated, and task-driven Martha. It is my duty to choose the better part always.

When I get to the end of a day and I realize I have only eaten 3 Cuties clementines and not had a single glass of water all day, it is time to re-focus. It is time to wake up and smell the coffee – to give my full and undivided attention to Him – Christ. That moment matters. It just changed my entire perspective as we approach the day of Jesus’ birth. I don’t want to “reach” Christmas Day gasping for air and feeling like a wrung-dry rag doll. I want to spend Christmas Day thankful, blessed, joyful and my giving-spirit on overload! It is hard to focus on the things that matter when we are so exhausted and overwhelmed.

Take a deep breath with me this evening and know that our God has got us covered – He has our back! Relax. Focus. Breathe. Love. Drink hot tea. GIVE.

Leave a Reply

